Time4me is on the Move

After nearly ten years in our current studio (which is a large but very cosy wooden building at the bottom of my garden) I have decided that it is time for a change of scene. Years of weather and use have taken their toll on the ‘shed’ and it is time to move to somewhere a bit more solid. And even though my customers have been very accepting and understanding, I am personally a bit fed up with freezing my backside off in the winter, using a chemical toilet and having to boil the kettle every time I want to wash the dishes.

The Current Time4me Studio

So from January 2011, we will be moving the whole operation to a brick-built studio in the grounds of the nearby Bursledon Brickworks and Industrial Museum. I’m really excited about this – apart from the comfort issues – as there will be more room, and facilities, to hold workshops in the other crafts I’m interested in such as fabric printing and dyeing and mosaics.

I’ve looked at so many shops and business units over the past year but, even though I thought I’d found the perfect spot on so many occasions, there turned out to be so many problems with either greedy landlords or over-zealous planning authorities, or getting enough money together – that the stress of it all was just too much. Commercial property letting is a nightmare especially for those of us who are bit wet behind the ears. But the lovely staff at Bursledon have been so helpful and accommodating that I can’t wait to move in and get started.

The new Time4me Studio

The best bit is that we’ll be working closely with the Brickworks staff to run some courses that their customers are interested in and helping out on their open days and ‘steam up’ days.

But before all that happens, there is a lot of work to do, decorating and getting the studio ready for January. We’ll be posting all our photos showing you how the work is going and how it is all going to look. If you’ve got any suggestions, we’d love to hear them.

Time4me x

3 thoughts on “Time4me is on the Move

    • Thank you so much for your encouragement. I love your alpaca and silk felted scarves. My customers would love a workshop on that – they’re always asking for one-days on something new.

Leave a Reply

