Beach Hut Blarney

Tonight’s post concerns not a town or a bird but one of the most quintessential elements of Britishness – the beach hut…

It also involves one of my least favourite things – progammed embroidery. It’s a great pity that I didn’t realise this until after I had practically sold the shirt off my back to acquire one of the machines that are needed to do these designs. Consequently,  I hardly ever use this feature – although the sewing machine – sorry computer – itself is pretty good if a little oversized…

But when the idea for this beach hut cushion came into my head, I thought seaside, seagulls, clipart, – you can see where I’m going with this…

So here they are – the cheeky chappies – and they actually required quite a lot of on-screen faffing before they were fit to be let loose to the machine.

Sea Shanty Cushion

Here they are in detail. The herring gull is not as clean an image as the black-headed gull but let’s just call it seaweed!

Herring Gull

Black-headed Gull

And of course once I got started on the programmed route, I thought it’s got to have a name just as cheesy as the image.

The Sea Shanty

Of course everything else is steam-a-seam and free-arm embroidery. But what’s wrong with combining the two?

One thought on “Beach Hut Blarney

Leave a Reply

