Bag Worship from the Old to the New

I love bags. Or to be more precise – I love making bags. I look on them as a portable canvas to display my ideas and inspirations. But they are not just ornamental as a wall hanging would be, but useful too.

Here are a few that I’ve made. The first one is a recent make put together after a shopping trip in Chichester where I saw some lovely soft leather bags made of off-cuts arranges in a tessalated pattern. But this one is made in my hand dyed fabrics from the ‘Brights’ range using Cerulean Blue, Acid Lemon and Magenta.

Tessalated Bag in Bright hand dyed fabrics

 

This bag has boxed corners and a blue lining and says – no shouts – summer to me – a phenomenon that is at last happening in the UK after the deluges of April!

The next bag is one made several years ago when my dyeing skills were still in their infancy. I used calico for everything and could only afford the basic primaries. But I loved freearm embroidery and covering all my projects in fanciful images of fruit and veg. I had the idea that I might ask our local fruit shop to sell them but didn’t think that the customers would pay more for the bag than the merchandise so chickened out and kept them for myself.

I have many more ideas for bags from the buildings of British towns that I am so fond of to the drawings of Wildlife illustrator, Charley Harper to the Traction engines that surround me in my Brickworks studio. I love to make and I love to share those makes and ideas.

Watch this space!

Leave a Reply

