From Sketch to Stitch

Today I joined an art class – the first I have ever been to!

Having taken lots of photos to inspire my embroidery, I was struggling to capture the essence of the photograph in stitch. So I decided what I needed was some tuition in pen-and-ink and a bit of a refresher in colour wouldn’t go amiss either.

The art studio I enrolled at is only 200m from my house and is known as HM Fine Arts in Locks Heath. I have known the tutor, Helen for some years, and, once I explained my problem we were away – with my first taste of musical sketching. In this exercise we were given 20 minutes to sketch a scene from a photograph – to music – and once the music stopped it was on to the next table and another sketch.

Once I got home, I was itching (or should that be stitching?) to turn some of them into embroidery…and here are the initial results…

The drawn sketch…
image

And the embroidered sketch…
image

The drawn sketch…
image

And the embroidered sketch…
image

I found this a really good way of transferring photos to embroidery and am looking forward to the next art class.

Leave a Reply

