Hold on Tight. New Direction Coming Up!

Before you ask – I’m not about to move into another shop or artist’s studio that I can’t afford. Nope. With lots of help and encouragement from my lovely other half, I have been developing some new wall hangings.

Those of you who know me know of my passions for free embroidery and hand-dyed fabrics and, up to now I have been incorporating these into cushions. But lately I have been finding the cushion format a little restrictive, both in size and content. So here are a few things I’ve been working on lately.

Wall hanging for the local Brickworks Museum shop

Wall hanging for the local Brickworks Museum shop

This is intended for our local Bursledon Brickworks Museum shop where I am a volunteer. Note the fossilized fish on the bottom left!

Seascape Hanging

Seascape Hanging

This is part of a larger work which is as yet unfinished and will have a few more deep sea surprises!

These wall hangings appeal to me because of the movement I can invoke with quite simple stitching techniques and the surprises I can add in the form of quirky applique!

Watch this space for the finished article!

4 thoughts on “Hold on Tight. New Direction Coming Up!

Leave a Reply

